THE Scottish FA have announced that Neil Doncaster has replaced Ian Maxwell on the Professional Game Board.

Maxwell has stepped down from his position with immediate effect and Doncaster was elected unopposed.

Scottish FA President Alan McRae said: “I would like to thank Ian Maxwell for his valuable contributions to the work of our Board, in particular, the part played by him during the recruitment of our national team manager.

“I am pleased to welcome Neil Doncaster onto our Board to replace Ian. Neil’s experience in the game should be of great benefit to the Scottish FA and I look forward to working with him and the other directors to drive the game in this country forward.”

The Professional Game Board consists of Rod Petrie (Chair), Alan McRae (Scottish FA), Andrew McKinlay (Scottish FA), Neil Doncaster (SPFL), Michael Nicolson (SPFL), Duncan Fraser (SPFL), Finlay Noble (SHFL) and Andrew Waddell (SLFL).

Doncaster is currently the chief executive of the SPFL and said: “I am very grateful for the support of the Scottish FA Board and look forward to Scotland’s two main footballing bodies working together more closely than ever before for the good of the entire game.”